Three Expands Free Roaming to 60 Destinations

Thomas Wellburn
May 11, 2017

Three will offer free roaming in Brazil and Singapore from June 15, taking the total to 60 destinations, the highest offering on any mobile network.

The network has said that it now covers 82 per cent of total trips abroad worldwide. Three became the first network to abolish roaming charges in 2013. The announcement comes after plans by the EU to dissolve roaming charges totally. Monthly subscribers will be able to use their data, minutes and texts in the following 58 global destinations (17 outside of Europe):

Aland Islands, Australia, Austria, Azores, Balearic Islands, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canary Islands, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guiana, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guadeloupe, Guernsey, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jersey, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Madeira, Malta, Martinique, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Republic of Ireland, Romania, Réunion, Saint Barthélemy and Saint Martin, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, US Virgin Islands, USA and The Vatican City.

Similar schemes are about to be rolled out by the likes of O2 and Vodafone but currently only offer the service in Europe.

Not content with just being the kings of free roaming, Three also has plans drop international calling rates for prepaid customers to just 3p a minute. This will effect calls to both landline and mobile numbers in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and China. Country dialing codes will no longer have to be typed in to make international calls. A further 16 countries will also see price drops by June.

Via Mobile News

About the Author

Share this article